June 15, 2021
austrian open

Austrian Open Tournament History.

The tournament Austrian Open Kitzbühel (formally known as the Generali Open Kitzbühel), despite its long history, has never been a significant event in world tennis. Moreover, in 2010 the tournament even temporarily received Challenger status, but a year later returned to the ATP Tour.

It all began in 1948, when the local tennis player Lubomir Tchaikovsky became the first champion of Kitzbühel. After that, in particular, Manuel Santana, Adriano Panatta, Guillermo Vilas, Vitas Gerulaitis, Thomas Muster, Goran Ivanishevic and Juan Martin Del Potro won on Austrian clay.

It is also interesting that Kitzbühel became one of the three dirt tournaments that obeyed the great Pete Sampras – in 1992, a young American played in the final of the Argentine athlete Alberto Mansini.

The current champion of the competition is Dominic Thiem – a year ago he won in two sets in the decisive match of the Spaniard Albert Ramos.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply