April 18, 2021

ATP Doha | Qatar ExxonMobil Open

The Qatar ExxonMobil Open, or the ATP Men’s  Qatar Tennis Open, is traditionally held in Doha, Qatar. Singles and doubles matches are played on the indoor hard courts of the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex. ATP Doha’s main draw matches start from 1/16 (singles) and 1/8 finals (doubles).

Jump to: Latest News, History, Current Champions, Record Holders

Qatar ExxonMobil Open 2021

DATE 8–13 March 2021
Draw 28S / 16D
Prize money $890,920
Surface Hard
Location Doha, Qatar
Category ATP 250

ATP Doha: History of the tournament

In the early 1990s, the Qatari leadership set out to systematically popularize the country in the eyes of the world community. The super profits from the export of natural resources allowed large-scale investment in a number of key sectors, from the economy to culture and sports. Tennis was no exception: local officials were soon concerned with building appropriate facilities, and in 1993 the first-ever ATP Doha was held, with a very strong lineup (Boris Becker and Goran Ivanisevic clashed in the final). Then for two years in a row Stefan Edberg took the main trophy.

The tournament quickly gained popularity. Players appreciated not only the local courts but also the level of service. In addition, the Qatar competition was an excellent opportunity to get playing a practice on the eve of the first major of the season – the Australian Open.

The year 2009 holds a special place in the history of ATP Doha. That is when the tournament finally joined the ATP 250 series and the prize money was raised to almost 1.5 million dollars. The Grand Four’s Andy Murray won the tournament’s main prize then, defending last year’s title in a final match against Andy Roddick.

ATP Record Holders in Doha

Roger Federer won the tournament most often (2005, 2006, 2011). Stefan Edberg (1994, 1995), Petr Korda (1996, 1998), Andy Murray (2008, 2009) and Novak Djokovic (2016, 2017) each won twice on local courts.

Among the doubles, Rafael Nadal was the most frequent winner of the main trophy. He has four titles under his belt, won in tandem with three different partners. The Bahamian-Spanish duo Mark Knowles – Mark Lopez won three more awards.

ATP Doha Current Champions

Swiss Stan Wawrinka, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga of France and Canada’s Milos Raonic were considered the favorites to win the 2020 ATP Doha. However, the champion was the second-seeded Russian Andrey Rublev, who had an unexpectedly strong start to the season after a rather uneventful 2019. He scored three aces and three breakpoints out of six in the hour-and-a-half-long ATP Doha final. The young Frenchman, Corentin Moutet, was unable to counter anything with a 6-2, 7-6 (3).

In doubles, India’s Rohan Bopanna and the Netherlands’ Wesley Koolhoff were victorious, defeating Luke Bambridge and Santiago Gonzalez 3-6, 6-2 (10-6) in the final.

Get the latest Qatar ExxonMobil Open News