Sun. Sep 26th, 2021

ATP Rotterdam| ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament

This year in Rotterdam the tennis players will come for the 48th time to win ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament. The tournament is held almost permanently after the Open Era of the masters of tennis – since 1972 (there was only a gap in 1973). The next championship will be held traditionally in the hall from March 1 to 7. In Rotterdam, the players will compete for €1,117,900, which is quite decent for the current time of crisis. The singles net is for 32 players, the doubles net for 16 duos.

Jump to: Latest News, History, Current Champions, Record Holders,Points and Prize Money,Top Seeds

ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament 2021

DATE 1–7 March 2021
Draw 32S / 16D
Prize money €1,117,900
Surface Hard
Location Rotterdam, Netherlands
Category ATP 500

ATP Rotterdam: History of the tournament

Talking about the tournament in Rotterdam, it is worth mentioning three things that have been relevant for almost the entire time of the tournament:

  • The competition takes place indoors. Initially, carpeting was used. After the ATP decided not to hold their competitions on it, the organizers laid a hard surface.
  • The tournament is held either in February (mostly) or in March.
    Since 1974, the Amsterdam-based bank ABN AMRO has been a regular sponsor of the competition.
  • The championship in Rotterdam was and still is popular among the top players.

Top stars at the ATP Rotterdam include Swiss Roger Federer, Australian Lleyton Hewitt, Russian Evgeny Kafelnikov, American Arthur Ashe, Swedes Stefan Edberg and Bjorn Borg, German Boris Becker and Briton Andy Murray.

ATP Record Holders in Rotterdam

Federer and Asch hold the record for the number of titles – both have three. Edberg, Richard Krejček of the Netherlands, Nicolas Esquide and Gaël Monfils of France and Robin Soderling of Sweden have twice celebrated success in the Netherlands. By the way, Krycek has been the director of the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament for a long time.

ATP Rotterdam Current Champions

In 2020, the tournament was traditionally held in mid-February and, having the ATP 500 category, gathered a decent lineup of participants. The top seed was Daniil Medvedev, while the top 10 included Stefanos Tsitsipas of Greece, Gael Monfils, and David Goffin of Belgium. Also seeded were Italian Fabio Fognini, Spaniard Roberto Bautista-Agut, Russian Andrey Rublev and Canadian Denis Shapovalov.

The 2020 ATP Rotterdam season delighted the fans with several interesting matches and unexpected results. Monfils and Rublev were the first two seeded players to reach the quarter-finals. Only the Frenchman followed, and he won the French Open. In the final, he was stronger than the Canadian Felix Auger-Allassim, who lost in two sets for the fourth final in a row.

ATP Rotterdam Points and Prize money

Round Prize money Ranking points
1 round 11,500 € 0
round of 16 20,000 € 45
quarterfinal 32,000 € 90
semifinal 47,000 € 180
final 66,000 € 300
winner 89,265 € 500

Top Seeds

Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Alexander Zverev, Andrey Rublev, Roberto Bautista Agut, David Goffin, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Stan Wawrinka

Get the latest ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament News

Four tennis players refused to play at the competition in ATP Rotterdam 500,

Italy’s Yannick Sinner, Canada’s Milos Raonic, France’s Gael Monfils and Serbia’s Filip Krajinovic will not play in the Netherlands. Their places in the main draw will be taken by Japan’s Kei Nishikori, Kazakhstan’s Alexander Bublik and Spaniard Alejandro Davidovic Fokina.